The Regulation of Geoengineering

Discussions related to Free Energy (including Zero Point Energy) and how to live off the grid

The Regulation of Geoengineering

Postby cassandra » Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:31 pm

Science and Technology Committee - Fifth Report
The Regulation of Geoengineering

First part of the summary is here
Geoengineering describes activities specifically and deliberately designed to effect a change in the global climate with the aim of minimising or reversing anthropogenic (that is human caused) climate change. Geoengineering covers many techniques and technologies but splits into two broad categories: those that carbon dioxide from the atmosphere such as sequestering and locking carbon dioxide in geological formations; and those that reflect solar radiation. Techniques in this category include the injection of sulphate aerosols into the stratosphere to mimic the cooling effect caused by large volcanic eruptions.
The Science and Technology Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Office for Science. Under arrangements agreed by the House on 25 June 2009 the Science and Technology Committee was established on 1 October 2009 with the same membership and Chairman as the former Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee and its proceedings were deemed to have been in respect of the Science and Technology Committee.

Current membership
Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chair)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Doug Naysmith (Labour, Bristol North West)
Dr Bob Spink (Independent, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

The Committee is one of the departmental Select Committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons
Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via

As this covers government expenditure it might behove any of you who follow this to do an FOIR to find out how much is spent and, importantly, what on.
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:54 pm

Return to Free Energy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest